This Will Change Your Life (and mine) {recipe: starbucks banana walnut bread}

1 Sep

Back in May, exactly one day after Mother’s Day and two days after I had thrown a baby shower for my most wonderful friend, I, myself peed on the magic wand to discover some timely news.

I have not told you all yet, blog readers,  but I, two-years-and-change-into-marriage, what-should-I-do-with-my-life, oh-things-are-so-easy-to-not-have-kids, am pregnant. Yes, sometime in mid-January we are supposed to be having a baby. I am just sure ours will come via stork, clean and wrapped in a nice blanket and not with the traditional arsenal of medical tools awaiting every pregnant woman at the hospital. I am sure.

From starbucks banana bread

That being said, I have the normal pregnancy stuff, nothing that I can really tell you which would be out of the ordinary. But there is one little caveat. The only thing I didn’t expect is probably this craziness of feelings and thoughts and emotions. I am not a huge “feeler.” I would say, in any event I sort of guard myself from becoming too excited that I would be devastated if let down, and I also deny becoming too upset about anything, because what is that going to help, really?

Let me tell you what has changed. Not just my expanding waistline, or the fact that I am a human incubator harboring giant soon-to-be milk factories, or that any time after 2pm, I could slide into unsuspecting narcolepsy, or that I think if I don’t find out this baby’s gender, I can’t feel bad that I don’t feel prepared for this baby because heck, I don’t even know if it is a boy or a girl. Oh, there is more than that.

We shall call it a tornado of emotions. Now, I would not call myself an over-emotional person. Moreover, I think that I don’t get excited enough about things because I fear disappointment, or that I am not greived enough, because I am trying to shield myself from pain and hurt. Until now. Now, there is no filter. No shielding.

So, last Saturday, I was a huge jerk to my loving husband. I then proceeded to cry, uncontrollably, for at least 90 minutes and between sobs said things like, “I am so overwhelmed,” and, “I am just sad.” And Jon would have done anything to help, but all I wanted was for him to “sit there with me” to console me, after I was so rude. Then I got over the overwhelmed part and cried because I was being a horrible wife and how am I supposed to be a good mother if I am already a horrible wife? It went on. He stayed. Consoled. I survived.

Whew. So, I got through it and I am back now, in action, but something inside me thinks that will not be the last time.

Well, a few good things have come out of the last week. We had some friends and their cute baby over for breakfast last Sunday and I made this banana banana bread that is so, so good. I then proceeded to make it three more times within the following week. That’s how good it is.

All that being said, the banana bread will change your life; the banana bread AND the baby will change mine. Can you tell I am nervous?

From starbucks banana bread

I can’t take credit for this recipe. I started with a recipe for Starbuck’s Banana Walnut Bread that they posted on their corporate site. With a few modifications, this is awesome.

Starbucks Banana Walnut Bread

makes one 9×5 in. loaf.

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 1/8 cup sugar

1 egg

1 T. vanilla

2 c. flour

1 t. baking soda

3/4 t. cinnamon

3 very-ripe bananas

1/4 cup buttermilk

1 cup walnuts, toasted and chopped

Preheat oven to 325 F and grease a 9×5 loaf pan.

Mix together oil and sugar until blended. Add egg and vanilla and stir.

Stir in flour, cinnamon and baking soda.

In a separate bowl, mash bananas until creamy and then stir in  buttermilk.

Add banana mixture to flour mixture andstir to combine.

Stir in half of nuts.

Pour batter into pan and top with remaining nuts.

Bake 45-60 minutes or until wooden toothpick is inserted and comes out clean.

From starbucks banana bread

12 Responses to “This Will Change Your Life (and mine) {recipe: starbucks banana walnut bread}”

  1. hilstreet September 2, 2009 at 7:29 pm #

    Banana Bread! It’s good for the baby!

  2. The Purple Foodie September 11, 2009 at 12:01 pm #

    Congratulations – wish you health! You made the banana bread thrice within a week? I have to bookmark it!

  3. Michelle Allen October 8, 2009 at 6:32 am #

    I recently made this banana bread, and it was fantabulous! This recipe has made it to my recipe box.

  4. Helen November 15, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Great recipe. Co workers loved it kids loved it……

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Love Carbs Now, Honestly {recipe: chocolate caramel oat bars} « Saltimbocca - September 22, 2009

    […] Temporary, overwhelming emotions to a not-over-emotional person like […]

  2. Gaining 10 Pounds from a Single Cheeseburger, or Not {recipe: no-knead beer cheese bread} « Saltimbocca - December 4, 2009

    […] can thank the baby for this recipe, because pregnancy has opened up a whole new realm of foods to […]

  3. What New Babies Need … « On Hil Street - December 9, 2009

    […] 9, 2009 in faith, friends I’m in that phase of life where my friends are having babies all the time. I host baby showers at least monthly with my trusty companion, […]

  4. Top 10 Kitchen Essentials – Great Gifts for the Holidays « Saltimbocca - December 16, 2009

    […] a loaf pan and then make Starbucks Banana Walnut Bread for breakfast and Beer Cheese Bread for […]

  5. No Baby Yet {recipe: cranberry vanilla granola bars} « Saltimbocca - January 16, 2010

    […] Dear Baby, […]

  6. The Best of Blogs {Part One} « Saltimbocca - July 18, 2010

    […] the week, along with what recipes we ate at home that week (because I don’t just serve banana bread and cookie pie for all of our […]

  7. I Love Carbs Now, Honestly {recipe: chocolate caramel oat bars} | Morgan Norris - December 28, 2013

    […] Temporary, overwhelming emotions to a not-over-emotional person like […]

  8. Gaining 10 Pounds from a Single Cheeseburger, or Not {recipe: no-knead beer cheese bread} | Morgan Norris - December 28, 2013

    […] can thank the baby for this recipe, because pregnancy has opened up a whole new realm of foods to […]

Leave a comment