Gaining 10 Pounds from a Single Cheeseburger, or Not {recipe: no-knead beer cheese bread}

4 Dec

The pictures of this bread are not very good but whatever. The bread is delicious. I mean, beer, butter, and cheese? Yes, please.

You can thank the baby for this recipe, because pregnancy has opened up a whole new realm of foods to me.

I spent most of college figuring out how to consume as few calories as possible, namely focusing on food I had put into one of three categories: lean proteins, sugar-free jello, and diet coke. Stellar categories, I know.  The latter two are not really food groups, but I made them so. And, though I was 19, I was sure I had the FDA beat on this one…my food pyramid was definitely better than theirs (<<check that out, it looks totally different from when we were in elementary school). But, I learned that this three-category food pyramid really isn’t a sustainable model. It leaves you tired and frail and stressed out about that supposed-to-be fun dinner with friends that you’re going to but won’t know how much butter they used to saute those vegetables and they surely won’t have jello. Also it makes your mom really worried.

Shortly after we got married, we tried out a month of eating organic and natural foods. This trial month could not include two of my food groups, because, well, aspartame is not organic or natural. I felt fantastic that month, and gained a few healthy pounds. With some encouragement from my husband, I was able to turn that organic/natural month into a lifestyle of healthiness and a better relationship with food. It took two solid years for me to gain the 10 pounds that my body wanted in order to function normally, not because I can eat whatever I want and not gain weight, but because each pound was such an effort to live with, a constant reminder that my life purpose was not to control my weight. But I got through it.

Anyways, one thing I had to learn was that eating a cheeseburger wasn’t going to make me gain 10 pounds in one sitting. That sounds dumb, but it is really what I had convinced myself. I am sure you have convinced yourself of some dumb stuff, too. Learning this allowed me to begin incorporating new food groups into my life, like bread and cheese.

So how does this relate to pregnancy? With pregnancy I kind of threw in the towel around 22 weeks when my leg-bones started to pop out of place from the hip-bones and running and jogging became distant memories. Around this same time I had to stop paying attention to the weight I was gaining. It didn’t really matter what I ate, I still gained weight, as my body prioritizes the baby. So, I began to have more fun foods that I wouldn’t normally let myself have. Not in excess, just in healthy moderation. Homemade eggnog? Sure, I will have a glass. Ravioli drizzled with cream sauce? Yum. A salad with full-fat dressing? Well if you’re going to put it right in front of me…None of these things will make be gain ten pounds in one sitting. They’re fine amongst a balanced diet and an active lifestyle.

Enter this Beer Cheese Bread. Most breads have a fat mixed in with the dough. This one doesn’t have a liquid fat in the batter, rather it has a load of cheese and then you basically drench the thing in butter. It is fantastic. Blake and I came home from work one day at lunch and made it and ate it hot. That is the best way to eat it for sure, about 10 minutes out of the oven.

This bread is halfway between a biscuit and a regular loaf of bread, and best of all, there is no kneading or yeast or rising time, just mix the ingredients and throw it in the oven!

Have a piece, it won’t kill you.

Beer Cheese Bread

Makes one 9×5 loaf

3 cups all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup shredded cheese (I used sharp cheddar)
1 bottle (12 ounces) beer (I used Shiner)
1/2 cup melted butter

Preheat oven to 350.

Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a bowl, stir in cheese. Stir in beer until dough is stcky. Don’t overmix the dough, it’s ok if it is lumpy.

Grease or butter the loaf pan.

Pour half of melted butter into bottom of pan.

Spoon dough into pan.

Pour remaining butter over the top.

Bake 45-60 minutes or until top is golden brown and toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

5 Responses to “Gaining 10 Pounds from a Single Cheeseburger, or Not {recipe: no-knead beer cheese bread}”

  1. Blake December 4, 2009 at 7:32 am #

    mmmm cheese and butter

  2. hilstreet December 8, 2009 at 10:10 pm #

    mmmm warm cheese and butter

  3. Kara Bridel December 9, 2009 at 11:44 am #

    Morgan, I had to try this recipe as soon as I saw it. I’ve always loved the beer bread at that cute little Czech Stop in West. I made it for dinner last night and it was tasty! Thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 10 Kitchen Essentials – Great Gifts for the Holidays « Saltimbocca - December 16, 2009

    […] a loaf pan and then make Starbucks Banana Walnut Bread for breakfast and Beer Cheese Bread for […]

  2. Still Waiting {recipe: chocolate chip cheesecake brownies} « Saltimbocca - January 20, 2010

    […] to come and cancer to heal seasons to change and someone to fall in love with us and heck, for that really dense beer bread I was put in the oven to bake all the way through. Sometimes we get what we’re waiting for […]

Leave a Reply

