It’s Getting Hot in Here {recipe: spinach salad with sweet mustard vinaigrette}

8 Aug
From Spinach Salad

It has been over 100 for, like, the entire summer. Ok, not the entire summer, but most of it. The most exciting news on the weather channel is that each day brings us to a new record of hotness. Not good hotness, like what a nice lululemon outfit can do to any workout-woman, but bad hotness, like my-plants-are-scorched, I-pick-out-my-outfit-for-the-day-based-on-what-shows-sweat-the-least, and my-dog-refuses-to-go-outside-in-the-afternoon hotness. Bleh.

So, that being said, I offer you a cool, crisp salad in place of a hot, baked dessert item.

Oh, and spinach was on sale, $.98/bunch and blueberries $.99/pint last week at the a-maz-ing grocery store I go to each week in search of its stellar sales. More on that later.

From Spinach Salad

Here you have it:

Spinach and Blueberry (or any other fruit you have: strawberry, peach, nectarine, etc.) Salad  with Sweet Mustard Vinaigrette.

Serves 6

1 bunch (12 oz) spinach, washed and dried with stems removed

1 cup berries or other chopped fruit

Roughly cut spinach and toss with fruit.

Vinaigrette

1/2 white onion, chopped

3/4 c. sugar

1 tsp. yellow mustard

1 tsp. salt

1/3 c. white vinegar

1 c. vegetable oil

2 tsp. poppy seeds

Mix all ingredients except poppy seeds in blender or food processor until smooth, pour into serving dish and stir in poppy seeds.

Side note: We ate this dressing on everything once the salad ran out. It is delicious.

From Spinach Salad
3 Responses to “It’s Getting Hot in Here {recipe: spinach salad with sweet mustard vinaigrette}”

  1. Katie August 8, 2009 at 9:09 pm #

    Morgan, you don’t disappoint. I made this tonight, using three shallots instead of half an onion. I also threw in one small clove of garlic and doubled the mustard (I used Dijon). The garlic added a little zip. It was perfection on a baby spinach salad with sliced strawberries and a handful of sliced raw almonds. I want to eat this salad for every meal now!

    Also, I’m suuuuper jealous that you are able to shop at Sun Harvest. I grew up shopping there in San Antonio and lived near one in Austin (Far West area). There’s a new grocery up here in Dallas called Newflower Market, and it sounds a lot like Sun Harvest. Planning to hit it up in the next week.

    • Morgan August 9, 2009 at 2:38 pm #

      That is awesome! I am glad you liked it 🙂 Almonds sound like a good addition too.

      Soooooo we have a Newflower Market too, but I don’t go too often bc it’s down south of Wm Cannon, BUT it is also fantastic. Similar deals and sales, and they overlap their sales, so if you go on Wednesdays, you get the past week’s sale prices and the coming week’s sale prices…which is just a lot of cheap groceries, really.

      You can see their ad online too: http://www.sfmarkets.com/tabs/austin.html
      Grapes for $.59/lb? ok. PJ Madison’s ice cream for $2.49/ea? yes please! Pears for $.33/lb? That is screaming pear pie. I think you will love this new addition!

  2. Michelle Collins September 2, 2009 at 7:28 am #

    Hey!!! Congratulations Lady!!! I can’t believe it. Man, I also can’t tell you how much I love your honest comments on what life is like being pregnant and expecting a child. It’s something I think about often, like all the other what if’s in life and I am so grateful to you that you speak answers into some of those questions. God chose an awesome woman to be a mother and I cannot wait to hear more about it.

    p.s. I check your website often and have used a lot of your recipes trying to find solace to my homesickness overseas!

Leave a Reply

