Don’t Go Off-Recipe When You Can’t Taste {recipe: teriyaki chicken with broccoli rice stir fry}

15 Apr

So I am feeling a little under the weather and I decided to try a new recipe last night. In an effort to stretch our grocery budget, I am looking outside of my typical recipe ingredients for new recipes that are good and cheap.

[Enter dark meat]

Boneless, skinless chicken breasts are healthy and wonderful, but they are also the most expensive cut of chicken, so when I saw a recipe for teriyaki chicken legs, I thought I would try it out. Five pretty large chicken legs cost less than $3 at Sprouts.

So I made the chicken legs and decided I would spruce up the white rice called for in the recipe. I added all sorts of stuff…soy sauce, orange juice, ginger…and I kept tasting it, and it tasted like nothing…just bland rice. I was confused at how all of that flavor was just soaking into the rice.

It wasn’t. I have a cold and I couldn’t taste anything. I realized that once we were eating and I said, “I marinated this chicken in teriyaki sauce all day and I can’t even tell….oh, wait.”

I am not going to tell you what I put in the rice. You don’t want it. There is enough soy sauce in it to give you hypertension with just one bite. Just make the white rice like the recipe says.

Teriyaki Chicken with Broccoli Rice Stir Fry

adapted from Rachael Ray

serves two

  • 4 chicken leg drummers
  • 3/4 cup (6 ounces) teriyaki sauce
  • Coarse black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons sesame seeds
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • 3/8 cup water
  • 1 tablespoons vegetable oil, divided
  • 1/2 cup jasmine rice
  • 1 bunch broccoli, trimmed and cut into 3-inch pieces
  • Salt
  • 2 large cloves garlic, very thinly sliced
  • 1 inch ginger, grated or minced
  1. Place chicken drummers in a resealable plastic bag with the teriyaki sauce and let marinate 4 hours or overnight.
  2. Preheat oven to 400
  3. Arrange chicken legs on a roasting pan and season chicken liberally with coarse black pepper.
  4. Cover chicken legs with foil and roast 20 minutes.
  5. Turn legs over and roast 10 minutes more.
  6. Remove foil and roast an additional 5-8 minutes to darken and crisp.
  7. Sprinkle with sesame seeds.
  8. While the chicken cooks, bring stock and water with 1/2 tablespoon vegetable oil to a boil over high heat. Add rice and stir, bring back up to a boil then reduce heat and cover pot. Simmer 18 minutes then fluff with fork.
  9. While chicken roasts the last 10 minutes, bring a few inches of salted water to a boil. Add the broccoli and cook 2-3 minutes, then drain. Heat remaining 2 tablespoons vegetable oil in a large skillet. When oil is hot, add blanched broccolini. Stir-fry 2 minutes, add garlic and ginger, and stir-fry 1 minute more. Serve chicken legs with stir-fried broccoli and rice alongside.

Leave a Reply

