Two Things For My Parents {recipe: chocolate chip muffins with clementine glaze}

24 Feb

The first is practical:

My mom and I have a lot of conversations that go like this:

Judy: Mmmmm this is good. Is this recipe on your blog?

Morgan: Yep, put it up last month.

J: Oh, I will have to look at that.

M: Do you read my blog?

J: I forget sometimes.

And with my dad,

Dan: Hey, Kim called and said she really liked your blog post.

Morgan: That’s great. Which one?

Dan: I didn’t read it, she said it was about carbs.

My parents don’t jump on checking blogs, but they do check their email lightening-fast. And they use gmail. They are very hip.

So, just for them, and the rest of you who are in the same boat, you can now get Saltimbocca posts in your inbox! Sign up here or click the “Subscribe to Saltimbocca by Email” link on the right of the page and each time there’s a new post, you’ll get an email that has the post in it.

And now for part two:

Last Friday morning, Shilah cried inconsolably. I tried the swing and the bouncy seat and the pacifier and finally I brought her into the nursery and sat in the rocker. We swayed forward and back while I sang to her.

I have a lot of song content because when I was in seventh grade, my parents took my brother and I with my grandparents on a trip to Germany to see the German countryside and the Black Forest and some estranged distant relatives that my grandma had tracked down. I am pretty sure I was a complete brat on that trip. Seeing scenery out of a car window wasn’t really what I had dreamed of at the age of 12. Instead, I sat in the backseat of the rental van and listened to my discman. When we left the house in London, I forgot to grab my cd case and as a result, had only the one cd in my discman to listen to for the entire trip: Jewel’s Pieces of You. I can sing every song. In order. I bet I listened to that cd 40 times that week instead of talking and hanging out with my family.

So this brings me to last Friday, singing to my crying daughter who will not stop and just enjoy the morning with me, and thinking about how I wouldn’t stop and spend the time enjoying my family at 12, and being thankful that I have 40 straight minutes of songs to sing, etched in my mind from sheer repetition.

About the time I started crying out of exhaustion and frustration, she finally stopped crying and listened. We sat, both with dried tears on our cheeks, enjoying the moment.

So, long overdue to my parents…thanks for taking me to Germany.

Chocolate Chip Muffins with Clementine Glaze (adapted from Vintage Victuals)

makes 24 muffins


  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup whipping cream, beaten until soft peaks form
  • 1 cup mini semisweet chocolate chips plus 1/4 cup for sprinkling on top.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Grease muffin pans or line with paper liners, and set aside.

Combine milk and lemon juice, set aside.

Combine the dry ingredients, and set aside. In a smaller bowl, combine egg, mik mixture, and oil, mixing well.

Use a spoon to make a well in the center of the dry ingredients. Then pour the liquid ingredients into the well.

Stir in chocolate chips.

Fill muffin cups about 3/4 full (which is more full than you would with most muffins, these don’t rise as much as the typical muffin recipe.

Bake 12-16 minutes.

Clementine Glaze

  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • Zest and juice from one clementine orange

Mix ingredients together, add additional powdered sugar or water (1/2 teaspoon at a time) to make the glaze thicker or thinner. Drizzle on muffins and sprinkle with remaining chocolate chips.

5 Responses to “Two Things For My Parents {recipe: chocolate chip muffins with clementine glaze}”

  1. Blake Sunshine February 24, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    I love this post. I recently apologized to my parents for the time I got upset when I was twelve and they wouldn’t send me to speed skating school.

  2. Mom February 24, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    Turns out it must have been meant to be that you left your other cd’s at the house…you just didn’t know it at the time. We wondered why you were so quiet on that trip!!!

  3. Jen February 25, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    This is great! The muffins look incredible.

    I can relate on the memorized songs … Mark and I used to play Tetris while listening to a specific KGSR CD over and over and over. I memorized it and then later used to sing the same songs (although in no particular order) at bedtime while nursing the kids. I still sing some of them when the kids request a song at bedtime … but usually stick to our wedding first dance song 🙂

  4. Mandy Radtke February 25, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

    absolutely precious 🙂

  5. hilstreet March 4, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    That is a very intense album. I like this Shilah character. She’s sewius.

Leave a Reply

