Fifty-One is Not Old Enough to be a Grandma {recipe: cream cheese pound cake with blakeberry sauce}

25 Jan

Apparently 51 is not old enough to be a grandma. That is what the baby thinks. I know this because the baby is lurching into its 10th day of being late in order for my mom to jump through the hoop that is her 52nd birthday.

She doesn’t look 52, does she?

Mom’s birthday present is now on the guest bed, waiting. I actually thought weeks ago that she may get it early. I made her a cake that would freeze well…something dense and full of butter as opposed to her favorite, angelfood cake, which would likely be sticky and gummy if I froze it.

So, happy birthday mom. Your grandbaby-present will be here…soon?

Cream Cheese Pound Cake

1 1/2 cups butter, softened

8 oz cream cheese, softened

3 cups sugar

6 eggs

2 tablespoons vanilla

3 cups flour

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

Preheat oven to 325. Butter and flour a 12-cup bundt pan.

Beat butter and cream cheese with an electric mixer on medium speed until smooth.

Add sugar, and beat until light and airy, about five more minutes.

Add the eggs,  and scrape the batter down from the sides of the bowl so that all of the ingredients are  incorporated.

Add the vanilla, mix again.

Then add the flour, salt, and baking powder. Mix onlyuntil all of the flour is incorporate.

Pour the batter into the pan and tap on the countertop so that the batter levels in the pan.

Bake until the cake is set and a toothpick inserted in the cake comes out clean, about 90 minutes.

Blackberry Sauce

Makes about 2 1/2 cups.

3 cups blackberries

1/4 c water

2 T. lemon juice

1/2 cup sugar

Puree all ingredients with an electric or hand mixer (on low, and in a big bowl so that it doesn’t splash up on you!), or in a blender or food processor. You can strain the sauce of you want, but I like the chunks of berries in there.

10 Responses to “Fifty-One is Not Old Enough to be a Grandma {recipe: cream cheese pound cake with blakeberry sauce}”

  1. erika knox January 25, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

    She doesn’t look 52, but she does look fabulous! Judy will make a wonderful grandmother, even if she is too young for the job 🙂

  2. brittany January 26, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    Girl! this looks like death by “yumminess” ….definitely something to bake & share! Steve & I are still praying for y’all & anxiously awaiting the arrival of baby Norris!

  3. hilstreet January 26, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    Judy, I hope Morgan told you I was gunnin’ for yesterday!

  4. Mom January 26, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    Awwwww….I am honored!! I must admit, I have come to the realization that I was a bit let down that the little munchkin didn’t make an appearance for my birthday…but oh well, it will still be close enough that we can celebrate together!! Grandparenthood…here we come!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Grey and Yellow: a Not-so-Babyish Room {nursery tour} « Saltimbocca - January 27, 2010

    […] good stuff. We combined the office and guest room to use the third bedroom for the baby and my mom came up in August to start the renovation process. It was a lot of work but I love how it turned […]

  2. Two Things For My Parents {recipe: chocolate chip muffins with clementine glaze} « Saltimbocca - February 24, 2010

    […] mom and I have a lot of conversations that go like […]

  3. 4am Not so Bad, Happy Mother’s Day {recipe: healthyish organic carrot cake with maple cream cheese frosting} « Saltimbocca - May 8, 2010

    […] two new motherhood experiences, was a day for my own mom. Mother’s day. I surely have a mother worth celebrating. She would stop whatever she was doing to talk to me. She had supersonic ears and would show up at […]

  4. grey and yellow nursery: a not-so-babyish room | C is for Coffee - September 11, 2010

    […] good stuff. We combined the office and guest room to use the third bedroom for the baby and my mom came up in August to start the renovation process. It was a lot of work but I love how it turned […]

  5. 4am Not so Bad, Happy Mother's Day {recipe: healthyish organic carrot cake with maple cream cheese frosting} | Morgan Norris - December 28, 2013

    […] two new motherhood experiences, was a day for my own mom. Mother’s day. I surely have a mother worth celebrating. She would stop whatever she was doing to talk to me. She had supersonic ears and would show up at […]

  6. Two Things For My Parents {recipe: chocolate chip muffins with clementine glaze} | Morgan Norris - December 28, 2013

    […] mom and I have a lot of conversations that go like […]

Leave a Reply

