It’s a Good Day {recipe: stromboli}

22 Jan
From Stromboli

Well there is still no baby yet but it’s ok. We had a deck party (beer and snacks and a talent show) at the office this afternoon because it’s employee appreciation week and I do feel appreciated. And we got on the Fortune list again, so everyone’s proud and happy but now it’s time to go home.

I get in the car and roll down the windows because its January and 70 degrees and I drive home and listen to this song and I love it. Not because of what it’s about, but because I like how when I turn it up really loud, the notes of the bass guitar vibrate in my chest cavity and the rhythm of the djembe fills my head and makes me forget about whatever I was thinking about.

And the song ends and I think about tomorrow and how I have no signs of labor so I will likely be back at work but it will be Friday and Fridays are great. I need to do laundry, but why stress about that? I compromise with the dirty clothes hamper that I know will be waiting for me with all of my jeans in it, by thinking that tomorrow maybe I will wear those pants that I sometimes also wear as pajamas, but if I couple them with a nice shirt then all of a sudden they are work-appropriate and then I have this secret that no one knows and it’s that I feel like I’m in kindergarten and it’s pajama day. And who doesn’t love pajama day?

So it’s a good day. It’s a good day to go on a walk with my husband as dusk settles over the neighborhood and a good day to make a good dinner and eat it amidst good conversation. And it’s a good day to wait.

From Stromboli

This recipe is great and I make it when I have random leftover meat. This time, I used ham, salami, sun-dried tomatoes, green peppers, and provolone cheese.  You could also fill it with chicken and spinach and cheese, or any combination of things that you like. It’s like one giant dinner kolache. YUM.

From Stromboli

Stromboli

adapted from Fabulous Foods.

Makes two, each serve 3-4, freeze one for later if you like (instructions below)

Dough
1 1/4 cups warm water
1 tablespoon yeast
1 teaspoon sugar
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons salt
between 3 1/2 – 4 cups flour

Fillings (mix and match as you like)
about 1 pound thinly sliced meats such as ham, salami, turkey, pepperoni, etc.
about 1/2 pound sliced cheese
1/4 cup grated hard cheese like Romano or Parmesan

Other Options
thinly sliced tomatoes
thinly sliced onions
thinly sliced bell peppers or roasted bell peppers
chopped black or green olives
roasted garlic
fresh or dried basil and/or Italian seasoning

1 egg white, beaten
2 teaspoons parmesan or oregano (optional)

Pasta pauce, if you want to dip your stromboli in it! (optional)

Combine 1/4 cup warm water, yeast and sugar in a large bowl and stir to dissolve. Let stand until foamy, about 5 minutes. Stir in remaining warm water olive oil and salt. Gradually add 1 1/2 – 2 cups flour, mixing until smooth. Gradually add enough remaining flour until you have a smooth dough that comes away from the bowl. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead 10 minutes, working in more flour as needed. Shape into a ball, place in a greased bowl and cover with a clean kitchen towel. Let dough rise until doubled or almost-doubled, about 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 375°F and grease a large baking sheet (if you have a pizza or bread stone in your oven you can forego the baking sheet and bake the stromboli directly on the stone).

Punch dough down and cut in half. On a lightly floured surface, roll each dough half into a rectangle about 10″ x 8″. Arrange fillings like a center stripe on dough. Brush the top with 1 egg white and sprinkle with parmesan or oregano (optional).  Pinch the edges of the seam and tuck the ends of the roll beneath the roll itself.

**At this point, if you want to freeze one of the strombolis, go for it! wrap it tightly in foil and freeze. When you’re ready to use it, let it thaw at room temperature (about 4 hours) and then continue with cooking instructions from here!**

Cut long diagonal slashes, about 1/2 inch deep, along the top of the loaf every 3 inches or so. Bake for about 30 minutes or until bread is golden brown. Cool slightly before cutting and serving, or if you prefer to eat your stromboli cold, cool completely on a wire rack before wrapping and refrigerating.

Original Post: https://saltimbocca.wordpress.com/2010/01/22/stromboli/

6 Responses to “It’s a Good Day {recipe: stromboli}”

  1. hilstreet January 23, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

    Blog design update while we wait for baby!

  2. hilstreet January 23, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    AND – great job linking to the 2010 list.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fifty-One is Not Old Enough to be a Grandma {recipe: cream cheese pound cake with blakeberry sauce} « Saltimbocca - January 25, 2010

    […] blakeberry sauce} Apparently 51 is not old enough to be a grandma. That is what the baby thinks. I know this because the baby is lurching into its 10th day of being late in order for my mom to […]

  2. Look what we cooked up! « Saltimbocca - February 8, 2010

    […] we waited and waited. And waited. And even stalled with a post about the […]

  3. The Best of Blogs {Part Two} « Saltimbocca - August 5, 2010

    […] calzones – this recipe, but shaped like a […]

  4. It’s a Good Day {recipe: stromboli} | C is for Coffee - April 12, 2011

    […] Original Post: https://saltimbocca.wordpress.com/2010/01/22/stromboli/ […]

Leave a Reply

