Weddings and Driving and Julie and Julia {recipe: cake mix cookies}

4 May

I only ever post pictures of food! Guess what? I have a video!

Well, it is not my video, but it is  a video of something I think is fantastic.

Ok, so in 2006 I was planning my wedding. Wedding planning for me involved countless  decisions, lovely showers and parties, many attempts of i-will-do-an-hour-of-yoga-everyday-until-the-wedding but then never even unrolling my mat, a last-minute shrunken wedding dress (that’s for another day), and lots of miles on my car. I lived in Austin and we got married outside of Houston, so probably three of four weekends a month, I drove the 6-hour round-trip to H-town for planning bonanzas for a few months.

Let’s just say I listened to a lot of books on tape. In four months I listened to probably four times as many books on tape as books I have actually read in the past four years. Pathetic.

This book was my favorite. It’s about a girl who’s over her crappy desk job and decides to cook through Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking, one recipe at a time. She has to boil live lobsters and search Manhattan to find parts of pigs that I have never heard of to include in recipes, and she and her husband sometimes don’t eat dinner until 1am because it really just took that long. There are a lot of cuss words through her trials…but in a stick-it-to-the-man kind of way, that makes you want to read (listen?) more.

Here’s the trailer, I hear it opens August 7.

Oh, yes and a recipe. Well, to contrast Julia’s time-intensive recipes, I have the easiest cookie recipe ever.

From Easiest Cookies

Cake Mix Cookies

makes 24 cookies.

1 cake mix (any kind)

2 eggs

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1 1/2 cup mix-ins (optional, see below)

Preheat oven to 350.

Mix ingerdients.

Drop dough by spoonfuls onto a greased cookie sheet.

Bake 8-10 minutes.

Ideas for cake mixes and mix-ins:

  • yellow cake with chocolate chips (pictured)
  • carrot cake with pecans and coconut
  • red velvet cake with white chocolate chips
  • chocolate cake with mint chips
  • white cake with butterscotch chips and walnuts
  • pineapple cake with orange peel
From Easiest Cookies
4 Responses to “Weddings and Driving and Julie and Julia {recipe: cake mix cookies}”

  1. erikaknox May 4, 2009 at 1:32 pm #

    And if you’re wondering where that particular book-on-tape is, it’s in our car. Still.

  2. Carey G. May 4, 2009 at 7:38 pm #

    I had a sweet tooth tonight, and this looked super easy so I decided to give it a try. Devil’s food chocolate cake mix with chopped cashews and mini chocolate chips- FABULOUS!! Thanks for the idea!

  3. blakesunshine May 4, 2009 at 8:30 pm #

    This is the recipe you gave me over winter break. I can vouch that it is delicious!

  4. Katie May 26, 2009 at 11:23 am #

    Well hello there! It has been a while since I have commented, but that’s not for lack of reading and enjoying the blog. 🙂 I have to tell you, my mom is an AMAZING cook and baker, but my little brother discovered at a young age that he loves cake mixes… so since elementary school, my mom has made him his favorite — yellow cake with chocolate icing — on his birthday each year. Brett (younger bro) came to stay with us this weekend in Dallas, and I was able to send him back to Austin with a huge batch of yellow cake mix cookies with chocolate chips. He loved them! Thanks for this easy, tasty recipe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

