Early Hours {recipe: morning glory muffins}

1 May
From Morning Glory Muffins

I have always been a morning person. Growing up with early-morning practices, I became accustomed to being up and alert hours before even the earliest bird. When I was swimming in the mornings, the sun would rise just at the end of a two-hour practice. We would be almost through a four-mile workout and my stomach would be wrenching for something to replenish the calories I had just expended. I would go home, shower, get ready for school, eat breakfast, drive across town for second period, park, get into the school and into class all before the 9am bell. I love the  mornings.

Now, talk to me at 11am and I was getting pretty tired. And by 8pm? Spent. I still would rather get up and going as early as possible, to make sure that everything gets done, and then rest at the end of the day if there is time. At least our friends know this already. Don’t call after 11 because we’re probably asleep and don’t invite us to go to any movies that start after 7:30 because we will surely be snoozing by the end of them. But, you need someone to help you set out things for your garage sale that is 30 minutes away and at 6:30 am? We can help! We will bring coffee and breakfast too! I will come at 6:30 am full of exclaimation marks! Really!

I like morning runs because if I get up and going quickly enough, I don’t have time to reason with myself that I really don’t feel like running. I also like early-morning meetings. Starting the day with crisp morning air, a nice cup of coffee, and challenging conversation is great. Friday mornings, I have coffee with a friend who I love dearly. We explore variuos coffee shops around Austin and meet to catch up on life, talk about what’s great and what is hard, we encourage each other to be better wives, daughters, sisters, co-workers and friends.

We’ve been to our fair share of coffee shops, and I can tell you for a fact that the reviews are right, Caffe Medici has the best coffee in town. And, after much tasting, Sweetish Hill has the best Morning Glory muffins. Go there, if just for the muffins. You will find many other things there to suit your fancy. Say, a ham and cheese croissant, or a giant decorated sugar cookie, or carrot cake, or a homemade yogurt cup. Just go.

I can’t go everyday, so I tried to re-create their Morning Glory muffins at home. My first go was pretty good for muffins and super-healthy, but not quite the same as the ones I am used to purchasing. Next time I try them I will probably increase all of the fruits and veggies by 50%, double the almonds, and add in a few tablespoons of orange zest and I think I will be closer to Sweetish Hill’s i-like-to-call-it-heaven-in-a-muffin Morning Glory muffins.

These are worth getting up early for.

From Morning Glory Muffins

Morning Glory Muffins

makes 48 muffins

2 cups white flour

2 cups whole wheat flour

2 cups oat bran

2 1/2 cups sugar+ some for sprinkling

4 teaspoons baking soda

2 teaspoons baking powder

4 teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon salt

2 cups grated carrot (about 3 carrots)

2 cups grated zucchini (about 2 zucchini)

1 cup raisins

1 cup slivered almonds

1 cup sweetened shredded coconut

2 green apples, grated

6 eggs

1 cup buttermilk

1 cup vegetable oil

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease muffin cups or use muffin tin liners.

Mix the flours, oats, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt.

Stir in oil, eggs buttermilk, and vanilla.

Stir in the carrot, zucchini, almonds, raisins, coconut, and apples.

Spoon the batter into greased or lined cups.

Sprinkle with sugar.

Bake for 12 to 18 minutes or until springy to the touch.

Let muffins cool in tins and turn them onto a wire rack.

7 Responses to “Early Hours {recipe: morning glory muffins}”

  1. erikaknox May 1, 2009 at 7:59 am #

    I find it hard to believe that anyone bakes muffins better than the ones above. Those things were amazing!
    And I’ve seen you stay up late, it’s your husband who will sleeping on the couch, cuddling with someone else’s husband 🙂

  2. melissacrager May 1, 2009 at 2:22 pm #

    You are so talented I could die!! I have been wanting a recipe like this and here it is! Thank you!
    P.S. You’re right about Medici.

  3. jennhb May 1, 2009 at 4:29 pm #

    Smarty — I agree with you on most points, but you’re wrong about one thing . . . Sweetish Hill’s muffins aren’t better than your’s, just a little different. Your’s were absolutely delicious . . . and a selfless contribution to the PMC mtg. Thanks for the special treatment. A couple of us were still talking about them at the end of the day! : )

  4. Morgan May 2, 2009 at 5:04 pm #

    Erika–thanks for a great afternoon! No late nights for us tonight!

    Haha, Melissa, last time I went these I passed Chad pulling out in the van 🙂

    Anytime, Jen–it’s a pleasure to come to a staff meeting with such a lovely group of girls!

  5. Ann May 6, 2009 at 9:27 am #

    Must be 350 degrees, not 35. 😉
    If only I had 48 muffin cups to bake all these muffins! I wonder if the recipe can be halved without affecting the deliciousness factor?

  6. Morgan May 6, 2009 at 9:28 am #

    Ann–Thanks 🙂 You could definitely half it! I was making a mass muffin batch!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. anniversary weekend(s): part 1… « k n o x - May 21, 2009

    […] coffee and a muffin.  After enjoying the muffin thoroughly (Morgan makes a better rendition of the Morning Glory muffin we enjoyed, but I didn’t think she’s be whipping them up for us first thing Saturday […]

Leave a Reply

