New Digs {recipe: mint chocolate chip ice cream}

1 Jan
From icecream
From icecream

Another day, another dollar, another year, another look. Saltimbocca has a new outfit! I hope the world greets this new outfit like Freddie Prinze Jr. did in She’s All That when Rachael Leigh Cook pulled herself together. I hope it sees Saltimbocca’s potential to go from wandering dreamer to prom queen. Or at least to be fun to read.

So, I have this problem. When something works, like when something I do actually comes to fruition and really executes well, I want to do it over and over. And over. This works well in some cases, like athletic socks. If you find a good brand of athletic socks that really provide the support required by your arches (or lack thereof), then go for it. Erratically throw away all of your old, mismatched athletic socks and run as fast as you can to Academy and buy ten of the same pairs. You will never have socks on different feet that are of varying cushiness. Your life will be, well, awesome.

Sometimes this practice doesn’t work well. Like with soup. When it got cold for a few days in October, I thought it would be a splendid idea if I made soup on Monday night. Minestrone with meatballs. So good, right? Right. I liked it so much that we had it in our lunches on Tuesday, and then Tuesday night I made broccoli cheese soup. Delicious, and in out lunches on Wednesday. So delicious that Wednesday night I ignored that the temperature had shot back up to 80 and I made baked potato soup, and it went in Thursdays lunches. And then I hated soup. So did Jon.

I have been scamming you for the last year. That’s right, scamming. You have been getting the recipes, but no stories. I have another blog. They have been getting the stories, but no recipes. I apologize to you both for my half-assed efforts on both ends. I got really excited about blogging, so instead of making one good blog. I wrote two sub-par ones. My excitement about blogging aligned more with the soup week than with the athletic socks. The truth is, you can’t have the food without the stories. Any family that cooks will tell you that it’s more the memories made while preparing food and the events where you bring your dishes that matter ten times more than the food itself. The food and the recipes just give us the excuse to make the memories.

Here, you will now get the recipes and the stories (I actually figured out how to import the posts from my other blog onto this one, so they’re all here now!). If you still want only the recipes, that’s always fine with me, they’ll be at the end of most posts and I will let you know in the title of a post like in this one.

So, today I give you ice cream. Ice cream makes all mistakes better, and restores all hope. Come back later for good reads and eats.

From icecream

Mint Chocolate Chip Mascarpone Ice Cream

1 cup milk
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup mascarpone cheese
1 cup heavy cream
1 tsp peppermint extract
1 chocolate bar, chopped (I used Green & Black’s Organic Dark)

1. Dissolve sugar in milk.
2. Whisk in mascarpone, cream and peppermint.
3. Freeze in your ice-cream maker according to directions, you’ll add in the chocolate when it’s halfway frozen!

From icecream
7 Responses to “New Digs {recipe: mint chocolate chip ice cream}”

  1. tierd January 2, 2009 at 11:12 pm #

    That looks fabulous!

  2. coffee January 4, 2009 at 6:06 pm #

    whatever happened to is it me, Freddie Prinze Jr.?

  3. Carey G. January 6, 2009 at 10:21 pm #

    OMG! That sounds exquisite! If only I had half the talent in the kitchen that you have…

  4. Laura January 9, 2009 at 3:26 pm #

    how funny, morgan! i just posted a very similar note on my blog about “simplifying” and combining blogs. i love the new look!! can’t wait to read more delicious recipes and fabulous writing – all in the same place 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Changes « Norris Notes - January 9, 2009

    […] In a recent attempt to streamline my life, all blog posts that were once on thenorrisfam and that would traditionally be here, will now be on […]

  2. “Rice Cakes Have Changed!” {recipe: rustic italian bread} « Saltimbocca - January 19, 2009

    […] like ice cream, when store-bought often has lots of reallylongintenseword ingredients. Bread, also like ice cream, when made at home is very […]

  3. "Rice Cakes Have Changed!" {recipe: rustic italian bread} | Morgan Norris - December 28, 2013

    […] like ice cream, when store-bought often has lots of reallylongintenseword ingredients. Bread, also like ice cream, when made at home is very […]

Leave a Reply

