Quick, Easy and Flexible: Hummus

9 Oct

Hummus is like the most popular cheerleader on the squad. She’s flexible, she shows up at every party, everyone likes her, she’s easy…well the hummus is easy, I don’t know about you, cheerleader. I haven’t made hummus before, I don’t know why, I just buy it on occasion if it is on sale and that’s it.

From Hummus

About a month ago, tahini was on sale, so I bought some (you see a trend in my shopping, I know. sale=possibility for purchase. no sale=no possibility) with the intent to make hummus one day, and I have a can of chick peas in the pantry. I don’t know when I bought the chick peas and I couldn’t decode what looked like a possible date on the can, so I am just trusting that cans last a few days short of forever, so I should be good. I think the beauty of hummus is that you can play up whichever ingredient you favor, and run with it. Unlike the peanut butter, you can keep adding more of whichever ingredient you like with no repurcussions. 

From Hummus


Hummus

1 can chick peas/garbanzo beans (same thing), rinsed and drained

1/3 cup tahini (sesame-seed paste. think: peanut butter but from sesame seeds))

juice of 1 lemon

3 garlic cloves, chopped

1-2 T. olive oil

1 t. salt

chile powder (optional)

extra olive oil (optional)

 

Blend chick peas in food processor, when blended, add tahini, garlic, and salt. 

Stream in the lemon juice, and olive oil until you reach the consistency you like. 

Sprinkle with chile powder and drizzle with olive oil for presentation.

4 Responses to “Quick, Easy and Flexible: Hummus”

  1. Brittany March 9, 2009 at 3:12 pm #

    Hey girl, just browsing your blog for something to make tonight for some guests. I usually use sesame oil instead of tahini & it has the same effect 🙂 I also throw in cumin sometimes for a smokey flavor. Just a thought! Much Love!

    • Morgan March 11, 2009 at 5:32 am #

      Cumin sounds awesome. Thanks for the tip!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 10 Kitchen Essentials – Great Gifts for the Holidays « Saltimbocca - December 16, 2009

    […] can use the food processor to make Peanut Butter or Hummus or Roasted Tomato Pasta […]

  2. Facebook gifts I don’t understand « The Perennial Millennial - March 3, 2010

    […] I send that to my friend who has a food blog? Maybe if the gift was delicious hummus on a cracker, but cheese? No thank […]

Leave a Reply

