I can now nurture

26 Sep

a garden.

  

My girl shovel, from Garson Farms

From garden

Two weekends ago, Micah and Jon built Erika and I gardens. They are beautiful.  They were an adventure.  Micah and Jon tilled the land, hauled and laid railroad ties, and hauled and laid new soil.

  

Our garden

From garden

 

While they toiled amongst the land, Erika and I dressed up for and 80s kids party Long with her sister, Sarah, and then went straight out plant-shopping. Our scruncis, Erika’s blue leather boots, and my sparkle shoes got us some free plants. Please review the following list of what we are growing, multiply it by two to include the Knox’ garden, and then realize that we zipped home with all of these plants for about $20. We were very proud.

We are now growing:

Golden Swiss Chard

Tomatoes

Green Bell Peppers

Jalepenos

Fennel

Cucumbers

Acorn Squash

and Mint, Rosemary, and Basil.

Acorn squash is crossed out because he is officially kaput and the cucumber is halfway down death row. You get what you pay for with .98 plants.

The next day, we planted these plants and Micah and Jon built fences around our gardens to protect the fruits of the weekend’s labor from pairs of rambunctious dogs.

  

Here is the chard

From garden
  

And the bell peppers

From garden
  

And the eggplant

From garden

Everything is going smoothly. I will continue to water daily and try and talk my plants into producing some fruit. And I will coax them into pressing on with a hard days’ work with coffee.  Much like I do for myself.

  

If I give you these coffee grounds, will you grow?

From garden

Oh, and something is eating my jalepenos.

  

Jalepenos

From garden

and my squash bit the dust. It looks like something from The Grapes of Wrath.

  

acorn squash...rip

From garden
2 Responses to “I can now nurture”

  1. Mom September 26, 2008 at 9:28 am #

    Some will flourish, some will not….perserverance is the key to finding what will work…and what not to try again…and again…and again.

  2. erikaknox September 26, 2008 at 3:29 pm #

    I am loving this post. It makes me want to post a Garden entry of my own….perhaps. You should only partway cross out the cucs, they are thriving in the shade at Fort Knox.

Leave a Reply

