I like to eat, eat, eat apples and bananas

22 Sep

 

From banana gingerbread

Well, not really. I like to eat apples but bananas are cheap, so I eat them instead. When we began eating locally and organically, my two-a-day apple fix was quickly thrown out the window. Apples hardly grow in Texas (local), and the good organic ones from Washington or Chile run $2 apiece (organic). I can get six bananas for that price.

 

From banana gingerbread

I digress. A plentitude of bananas is how I ended up with this bread, and any other banana bread that I make for that matter.

I acquired a love of warm spices from my mom. Not chile or paprika, but cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, ginger, and all spice. Enter: Gingerbread.

This bread is dark in color and moist in texture. The bananas and buttermilk (don’t have buttermilk? Who does? Instead, mix 1 T. lemon juice or white vinegar per cup of milk, leave on the counter for 5 minutes and you have buttermilk!) alleviate the need for large amounts of oil or butter, and the spices make it rich with flavor. Combine all that with the naturally sweet molasses and whole wheat flour, and you have quite a snack.

When I made the bread, I doubled the recipe and made both muffins and a loaf of bread – both turned out great. I use the turbinado sugar on top of both forms. The sugar granules look like little crystals calved from a mine and they crunch between your teeth – providing a nice contrast to the soft, smooth bread.

 

From banana gingerbread

Banana Gingerbread
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp ground ginger
1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon (sub for 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice)
1 tsp ground allspice
1 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp ground cardamom
pinch freshly ground nutmeg
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup banana, mashed (about 2 large)
1/2 cup molasses
1/2 cup buttermilk
4 tbsp vegetable oil

Preheat oven to 350F.

Grease and flour a loaf pan

In a large bowl, stir together flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt and spices.

Add in brown sugar, banana, molasses, buttermilk and vegetable oil, stir until ingredients are just combined (should still be lumpy!)

Pour into prepared pan and sprinkle with turbinado sugar, if desired.

Bake for about 40-55 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean.

One Response to “I like to eat, eat, eat apples and bananas”

  1. erikaknox September 23, 2008 at 1:44 pm #

    This sounds delicious! I’m going to have to try this one out. And I have two perfectly overripe bananas sitting on my counter at home:) Also, can I make a recipe post request? Pumpkin cookies… YUM.

Leave a Reply

