a servant’s heart…

28 Mar

We’ve been studying passages of the Bible using the REAP method, simply standing for Read, Examine, Analyze, and Pray. Today I read 1 Corinthians 4:1-2 and wrapped it in with last night’s Proverbs 31 discussion.
R.

“So then men ought to regard us as servants of Christ, and those entrusted with the secret things of God. Now it is required tat those who have been given a trust must prove faithful. I care very little if I am judged by you or by any human court; indeed, I do not even judge myself.” 1 Corinthians 4:1-2

E.

The end of the chapter prior talks about us, as believers, being of Christ, and that Christ is of God. I think it is interesting how Paul calls out that he doesn’t even judge himself. I often think about not judging others (note: I think about not doing it more than I act that way). But, I rarely think about not judging myself. I judge how I look, or how I “think” I look, really. I judge what I cook, clean, create…nothing is ever good enough for my own standards. I also get overwhelmed – I create too much for myself to do and then want everyone’s sympathy because I am so busy.

A.

The beginning of the set of verses tells how we should act in such a way that people see us as Christ’s servants. How would I act if Christ physically showed up in my house and I was to serve him?

I would probably:

  • be much more humble
  • think of others before myself more
  • be more intentional with my conversation – doubt I would just pass the time with Jesus talking about the weather or being frivolous about the shoes I was wearing
  • be more engaging and undistracted in my interactions – I would focus, rather than folding laundry while watching the TV while listening to Him talk
  • cross all of the superfluous tasks off of my list – do I really need to go to the grocery store again because I forgot the apples? I really wanted apples, I really wanted some red in the fruit basket with the yellow bananas and green pears we already have – pretty sure Jesus would be happy with just the pears and bananas
  • listen more than talk
  • be flexible with my schedule – and not go crazy if something gets off-schedule

Last night we spent some time talking about the Proverbs 31 woman, discussing who she is and what she does, and doesn’t do.

Some of the realizations that we came to were that the Proverbs 31 woman:

  • doesn’t have “taking time to herself, sans husband, sans kids” in her daily schedule
  • doesn’t worry about what she looks like
  • is strong from her labour
  • is not entitled to praise…and doesn’t get to quit if she doesn’t get praised
  • is overwhelming….how do we do all of this?

The promise is in the verses around today’s reading in 1 Corinthians help us see why we do it:
1. God’s spirit lives in you (ch 3 vs 16)
2. You are of Christ (ch 3 vs 23)
3. So regard yourself as a servant (ch 4 vs 1)
4. You are given trust and must prove faithful (ch 4 vs 2)
5. Do not judge yourself (ch 4 vs 3)
6. For the Lord will judge (ch 4 vs 4)
7. He will expose the motives of man’s hearts and at that time, each will receive his praise from God (ch 4 vs 5)

For God. How do we do it? How do we strive to be that Proverbs 31 woman? We stop worrying about it and just do it with a servant’s heart. We don’t judge ourselves or worry when we fail, we just keep out hearts focused on Christ.

P .

Lord, make me more like you. Make my heart desire to be more like you. To have a servant’s heart. To cease judging myself. To negate the superfluous and wait for your glory.

4 Responses to “a servant’s heart…”

  1. Eriek Hulseman March 31, 2008 at 7:19 pm #

    Thanks for putting that out there for others to benefit from. REAP is a great way to go about studying. I hadn’t heard of that before and I think that I’ll pass it on.

  2. Kristen Tonne April 17, 2008 at 11:28 am #

    Morgan I didn’t know that you had a blog. I was surfing around facebook today and saw the link to yours. Loved your post. I am so much like you in so many ways. Always worrying about things and never just resting in our Lord and the fact that He is perfect and I am broken. He is my Saviour and I trust Him. It was really inspiring today.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. a radically changed heart « Morgan’s Notes - May 10, 2008

    […] radically changed heart We’re REAPing through Galatians this […]

  2. The grass is always greener? « Morgan’s Notes - October 7, 2008

    […] The grass is always greener? More REAP. […]

Leave a Reply

