English Toffee

10 Feb

 

img_2323.jpg

img_2329.jpg

I have a confession. I am a horrible fudge and toffee-maker. I would like to blame this on bad candy thermometers or (some other culprit I can’t think of, but I think it is me. A few Christmases ago, during my mom and my annual Christmas baking, I put my name next to Peanut Butter Fudge. Namely, because I love it. When I was younger, we would go to Galveston Beach and shop on the Strand, our last stop would be The Peanut Butter Warehouse, which my mom enjoyed for its antiques and I enjoyed for its fudge. The rest of the family would meander around the store, and I would pace back and forth in front of the fudge counter. I would feast my eyes of toffees and fudges, truffles and cordials, brittle, cookies, and all things chocolate-covered knowing my dad would return to get me and let me pick out one (maayyyybe two) treats for the walk back to the car. Dad and I would walk in the back of our group of people, I would savour my choice of fudge and he would sneak me pieces of him. I always liked peanut butter fudge, especially with a layer of chocolate on the top. So, two Christmases ago, I took on my own Peanut Butter Fudge. I took it on once, twice, three times with two different recipes, and each time, ended up wither with a runny, mushy, Peanut Butter Sludge (still tasty when drizzled over icecream) or something hard and burned, where the sugar had beyond-crystalized. Yuck. I have this twitch engrained in my head that if something I tried to make doesn’t turn out, it must because I did something wrong, and if I try harder, there’s no reason I can’t get it right. So, try, try again. I did nothing that day but look at different recipes and pout over batch after batch of ruined fudge.

Since then, I have kind of stayed away from anything involving candy thermometers, for the most part. I tried in the fall to make a delicious-looking Pumpkin Fudge, but again got Pumpkin Sludge.

This Christmas, we were at my mom’s friend JoAnn’s house. JoAnn, couth and adept in the kitchen, refined and at-ease in such a way that you really think, just for a second, the exquisite Cornish hens baking in the oven of her spotless kitchen may have been easy. You know they weren’t, but she sure makes them look otherwise.

A sheet of English Toffee lay on her kitchen table, half broken into pieces, half still in sheet-form, waiting for its last step. I helped myself to a small piece of toffee, and it was heavenly. The kind you would buy in some gourmet store wrapped in simple chic packaging for a mere $10. And you would feel like you got a good deal because ohmygoshthistoffeeissososogood.

I sheepishly asked for the recipe, with flashbacks of my skill in ruining fudge and toffees to be met with “oh, this is so easy” (me thinking: “but you have no idea”). She pulled the recipe out of a notebook, old and stained with butter-splatters and decorated with grains of sugar that had gone astray from their own recipe.

Long story short, I made the toffee. It was successful. Wonderful. Delish. No candy thermometer required…


JoAnn’s English Toffee.

img_2324.jpg

1 lb (4 sticks) plus 1 ½ T. salted butter. Do not (please do not) use margarine. The increased water content in margarine will make your recipe fail.

2 c. Sugar

12 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips.

 

Melt butter with sugar in heavy-bottomed pot over medium-high heat., stirring constantly with a heatproof spoon. Stir until the mixture turns a dark caramel color (about 8-10 minutes). Pour onto cookie sheet. Cool. Melt chocolate chips with 1 ½ T. butter at 30 second intervals in microwave, stir between each interval. Do not overheat. Spread chocolate over cooled toffee.


6 Responses to “English Toffee”

  1. JoAnn February 24, 2008 at 7:59 pm #

    gosh, Morgan…i feel so honored! but, you know it was super easy…glad you liked it…i love those dark choc cookies, i will def make them for ross on his break! j

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. This Will Make it Alright {Recipe: Salted Butter Caramel} « Saltimbocca - March 4, 2009

    […] This carmel is very easy, and so pure and tasty. Do you have those Kraft carmels in your baking pantry? Go get them, and see that they have many, many ingredients that you can’t pronounce. Scroll down to my (really, it’s Deb’s) recipe. It has three ingredients. Simply delicious, like this. […]

  2. Why I Don’t Smoke {recipe, kind of: key lime pie} « Saltimbocca - March 26, 2009

    […] for mouth, throat, and lung cancer. I hear smokers lose their acute sense of taste. To not taste this, or this, or […]

  3. salted butter caramel | C is for Coffee - October 26, 2010

    […] This carmel is very easy, and so pure and tasty. Do you have those Kraft carmels in your baking pantry? Go get them, and see that they have many, many ingredients that you can’t pronounce. Scroll down to my (really, it’s Deb’s) recipe. It has three ingredients. Simply delicious, like this. […]

  4. Why I Don't Smoke {recipe, kind of: key lime pie} | Morgan Norris - December 28, 2013

    […] for mouth, throat, and lung cancer. I hear smokers lose their acute sense of taste. To not taste this, or this, or […]

  5. This Will Make it Alright {Recipe: Salted Butter Caramel} | Morgan Norris - December 28, 2013

    […] This carmel is very easy, and so pure and tasty. Do you have those Kraft carmels in your baking pantry? Go get them, and see that they have many, many ingredients that you can’t pronounce. Scroll down to my (really, it’s Deb’s) recipe. It has three ingredients. Simply delicious, like this. […]

Leave a Reply

