(What’s Left of a) Breakfast Pizza

3 Feb

img_2187.jpg

Every Wednesday, Jon has a group of guys over in the morning, which means every Wednesday, I get to make breakfast. Neither of us are much of breakfast eaters, so the only time I get to make it is when we have some sort of company. I love breakfast, and I always remember so when I make it. When we were younger, we often had breakfast for dinner, in which our plates were laden with waffles, sausage and hashbrowns, and the whole lot of it drenched in suryp. My parents were never much of breakfast eaters, so I suppose breakfast for dinner was my mom’s outlet to make such foods. We ought to have breakfast for dinner more often, but we don’t…so here’s to Wednesday mornings.

img_2188.jpg

This is Breakfast Pizza; forgiving, and flexible, it is a great breakfast, brunch, or breakfast-for-dinner meal.

Breakfast Pizza

serves 12.

2 croissant packages

1 lb. sausage, turkey sausage, groung beef, or diced ham

1 t. salt

5 eggs

1/2 c milk

1 1/2 c frozen hashbrowns, defrosted

1 c shredded cheddar, colby jack, pepper jack, or mozarella cheese

one cup each of two of the following: chopped tomatoes, choppes bell pepper, chopped onion, chopped mushrooms, chopped asparagus, chopped squash or more meat.

Cook sausage, potatoes and vegetables in a skillet.

Grease a 9×13 pan and unroll croissants. Place croissants in pan and pinch edges together to form croissant “crust.” Allow crust to come up the sides of the pan 1 inch.

Drain skillet contents of grease and pour over crust.

In a bowl, whisk salt, eggs and milk until combined.

Pour egg mixture over meat and vegetables and top with cheese.

Bake at 375 for 15-25 minutes, until eggs are cookes and cheese is melted.
img_2190.jpg

4 Responses to “(What’s Left of a) Breakfast Pizza”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pumpkin Cake with Carameled Apples and Strudel « Saltimbocca - November 21, 2008

    […] you can tell me. My mom loves pumpkin, so I guess that is where I get it. This recipe is another Wednesday-morning breakfast recipe. The apples carmelize with the sugar and provide sweetness and texture atop a moist pumpkin bread […]

  2. Early Hours {recipe: morning glory muffins} « Saltimbocca - May 1, 2009

    […] have time to reason with myself that I really don’t feel like running. I also like early-morning meetings. Starting the day with crisp morning air, a nice cup of coffee, and challenging conversation is […]

  3. Early Hours {recipe: morning glory muffins} | Morgan Norris - December 28, 2013

    […] have time to reason with myself that I really don’t feel like running. I also like early-morning meetings. Starting the day with crisp morning air, a nice cup of coffee, and challenging conversation is […]

  4. Pumpkin Cake with Carameled Apples and Strudel | Morgan Norris - December 28, 2013

    […] you can tell me. My mom loves pumpkin, so I guess that is where I get it. This recipe is another Wednesday-morning breakfast recipe. The apples carmelize with the sugar and provide sweetness and texture atop a moist pumpkin bread […]

Leave a Reply

