On Prayer

1 Nov

Jon and I spent a long time talking about prayer last night. We have not experienced the day-to-day emotional and mental wearing of some of the things burdening our friends, but we have experienced whole loads by praying for these things weighing on friends. I told Jon last night (humbling myself to realities of my life and walk with God) that I have never prayed for something for so long, seen a change, and so accredited the glory to God not just with attribution, but in rejoicing…until now. I have always stopped praying, whether or not I really realized it, or stopped being frequent and persistent on my prayers for something, and then when God’s work actually came to fruition I have been so detached from the prayer that I failed to accredit the glory to God. I can look back through life and see times when God delivered me from things, but never in relationship to my prayer. So here we are, in Austin, and God has lessons for us in diligence and devotion and perseverance. I am joyful that we can be open and transparent and pray with others so that we can rejoice with them.

Be confident your prayers and requests are from God and not in vain, because God is using you to teach all of us something.

2 Responses to “On Prayer”

  1. Eriek Hulseman November 6, 2007 at 6:20 pm #

    Love the blog. You have a way of leaving your heart unguarded and exposed so that we can see the real ‘you.’ Your honest and faithful words speak louder than any theologian’s would be able to do. Remember what Jesus said to the possessed man after He healed him?: “Go home to your friends and tell them how much the Lord has done for you, and how He has had mercy on you” (Mark 5:19). Telling others what He has done for you is the most important thing you can share apart from the Gospel – and many times you just being you leads other’s to Christ. Be true to whose you are people will see it. And THAT is contagious.
    Keep it up!

  2. hilstreet November 21, 2007 at 11:51 am #

    Hey! Look what I found! 🙂 Yay Morgan family blog. Looking forward to more prayer posts.

Leave a Reply

