Easy Turkey Burgers

25 May

I struggle to eat red meat. Ever so often I crave a burger (and when I do, it had better be a big juicy one loaded with condiments); otherwise, I am perfectly happy with chicken, fish, or turkey. So, I made these turkey burgers.

img_0724.jpg

These were really, really good turkey burgers. I souped them up by serving them openface on toasted lemon rosemary bread, spread with hummus and topped with fresh spinach, avocado and tomato. Then topped the burgers with fresh mozarella which was melted under the broiler for 1 minute before placing the patty on top of the luscious bed of greens.

I know, right now you think…wow, so healthy. And it was so, so healthy until instead of eating the cantelope that I had cubed as a side dish, we whipped out some french fries instead. oops.

img_0725.jpg

Turkey Burgers

adapted from Real Simple, June 2007.

serves 2.

1/2 pound ground turkey, I used the 99% lean

1 small zucchini, grated

1 small carrot, grated

2 cloves garlic, finely chopped

3/4 teaspoon dried thyme

3/4 teaspoon kosher salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1 large egg

1/2 T. olive oil

Preferred Fixings – Ideas: crusty bread, buns, mayo, hummus, honey mustard, grain mustard, ranch, tomato, lettuce, spinach, avocado, red onion…

In a large bowl, combine the turkey, zucchini, carrot, garlic, thyme, salt, pepper, and egg. Form the mixture into 2 patties.

Heat 1/2 tablespoon of the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Cook the patties, turning once, until no trace of pink remains, 4 to 5 minutes per side.

Dress up the burger and eat!

img_0727.jpg

3 Responses to “Easy Turkey Burgers”

  1. Beverly Kugler June 8, 2007 at 3:51 pm #

    I’ve been looking for this recipe ever since my daughter made them for us. They were juicy and delicious. We just made regular hamburgers out of them on whole wheat hamburger buns.

    The only thing missing here is the nutritional information, but I can figure it out. I do points on Weight Watchers and am always on the prowl for low fat meals with loads of flavor.

    Thanks for posting it.

  2. shauntae stewart April 1, 2008 at 12:29 pm #

    Hi I was searching google for a great turkey burgerand the picture of yours popped up. Lucky me!! My family and I are huge fans of turkey, fish, and chicken, no red meat and tonight its turkey burgers(your recipe) and a salad. Thanks so much. I am off to Whole Foods.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 10 Kitchen Essentials – Great Gifts for the Holidays « Saltimbocca - December 16, 2009

    […] You can use a stainless steel skillet to brown and cook your Turkey Burgers. […]

Leave a Reply

