steamed cod and asparagus in parchment for mother’s day.

14 May

Why for Mother’s Day? you ask…

My mom loves fish, but she is home with my dad and brother who have an “blah” attitude toward fish (“They just don’t get excited about it”). It was just Mother’s Day, so we ought to give her what she wants now, right?

img_0382.jpg

I love seafood. LOVE it. If it weren’t for the steep prices and those facts about mercury, I would eat it every day. This love has been born only in the past few years. Before that, I begrudgingly ate anything from the sea with the aforementioned attitude of my male family counterparts above. Sorry about that, mom.

My husband and I made this for dinner, and it was by far the most fresh fish dish I have ever made. Because of the parchment packets, the fish and asparagus steam and bake in the fish oils. This allows you, the eater, to maximize your consumption of those ever-so-heart-healthy Omega 3s.

img_0383.jpg

steamed cod and asparagus in parchment.

adapted from Real Simple: Meals Made Easy.

 

 

serves 2.

3/4 pound small red potatoes, sliced about ¼ inch thick

2 6oz cod filets (salmon, tuna, or halibut would all work as well. fresh is best! get the filets from the meat counter.

1 t. salt

1 t. pepper

1 T. chopped fresh thyme

2 green onions, trimmed and cut into one-inch pieces

½ pound asparagus, trimmed and cut into one-inch pieces

2 t. olive oil

Parchment paper, torn into 4 15×15 inch sheets

 

Heat Oven to 400.

Place 2 parchment sheets side by side on a baking sheet (they will overlap, this is fine)

Scatter half of the potatoes in the center of both sheets.

Rinse the cod and pat it dry with paper towels, then place the fillets on top of the potatoes.

Season each fillet with salt and pepper. Add the thyme, green onions and asparagus on top of the fish, then drizzle with olive oil.

Top with remaining parchment sheets and roll sides in to seal (as seen in photo). Bake for 22 minutes.

img_0389.jpg

You won’t be able to check if the fish is done, so leave it in for the whole 20 minutes!

To serve, place each packet on a place and cut an X into it with a knife or kitchen scissors, it is easiest (and pretty) to eat out of the paper.

2 Responses to “steamed cod and asparagus in parchment for mother’s day.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pumpkin Cake with Carameled Apples and Strudel « Saltimbocca - November 21, 2008

    […] pumpkin, that’s ok, you can tell me. I probably won’t listen, but you can tell me. My mom loves pumpkin, so I guess that is where I get it. This recipe is another Wednesday-morning […]

  2. Pumpkin Cake with Carameled Apples and Strudel | Morgan Norris - December 28, 2013

    […] pumpkin, that’s ok, you can tell me. I probably won’t listen, but you can tell me. My mom loves pumpkin, so I guess that is where I get it. This recipe is another Wednesday-morning […]

Leave a Reply

